Grief / Huffington Post Published

14 thoughts on “An Empty Father’s Day (As Seen on the Huffington Post)

  1. I really appreciated your story. Thank you for sharing. My dad died when I was 18 (42 years ago this August 11) and left me with an unloving and uncaring mother. Father’s Day is so hard for me and people don’t usually understand. I worshiped (and still his memory) my dad. I will miss him until the day I die. I wrote about my grief on my website: http://justduckydickson.com/retirement-isnt-for-everybody
    thanks for sharing your feelings. take care!

    Like

  2. I came across your article on Huffington Post, and I am impressed by how you shared your thoughts and feelings. I can relate to them all too well, having lost my father in a mining accident four months before I was born. The ache never fully goes away. If you wouldn’t mind, I may follow up on this in the weeks to come by asking if you’d like to read a memoir I’ve written that I’m waiting to publish in eBook form, and if you’d like to review it I’d be thrilled. And, if you wouldn’t mind, I’d like to reblog your article for my own Father’s Day remembrance. Thanks for sharing! And be strong! It looks like that’s exactly what you are — strong.

    Like

  3. It may be an empty Father’s Day in the physical sense, the ‘here and now’, but I’ve come to realize that my Father is a big part of me and from what i’m getting from your piece, your Father is a big part of you as well. My Dad is always here with me, in my thoughts, in my heart and in the world around me wherever I am. It’s strange at times when thoughts come into my head and the memories along with that feeling of presence seems to be there. Many years ago this would overwhelm me with grief and sadness. Those tears really hurt. These days it’s much different….the tears now are filled with joy and happiness…okay, maybe there is still some sadness too, but the good seems to trump the sadness. These feelings have helped me through some very difficult times too….I was 16 too when my Father died….that was nearly 25 years ago. Hard to believe it has been that long already because it seems like it could have been yesterday. Man how time flies, doesn’t it? Now I am a father myself…of two beautiful daughters that truly amaze me everyday and that i’m forever grateful for having the opportunity to be a part of their lives. It is an experience of a lifetime. Thank you for sharing…I’m really glad that I stumbled upon your piece as I really enjoyed it…I really went into it and felt as though i was reading about my own life in a way. This Sunday, maybe I’ll get some baseball gloves and play catch with my daughters….just like I used to with my Father 🙂

    Like

  4. I read your article through the Huffington Post, and it hit a strong cord with me. Saturday will be the 6 year anniversary of my dad’s passing, with Father’s day to follow the day after. I, too, will be sad and heartbroken, but will try to take some joy in the memories I have left. I hope your Sunday is more on the joyful side than sad, and wish you the best! Thank you for sharing your experience….it is exactly how I am feeling right now.

    Like

  5. Hello, Michelle. I can really identify with your feelings in this blog. My father passed away when I was 11 after a year’s bout with cancer. I was the light of his life, and people say that I look a lot like him. He taught me to ride a bicycle and read to me when I was sick. The older I get, the more I miss him. He was not here to walk me down the aisle or to see his only grandchild…oh, how he would have loved her! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. I am sure that there will be many others who share the same mixed emotions that we do.

    Like

  6. I lost my dad in 2004 to cancer, at the age of 17. This article really spoke to me, and it’s the first thing I’ve read that I could really relate to. Keep your chin up hun.

    Like

  7. While searching for ideas for a fatherless Father’s Day your blog popped up in my search.
    I sat reading through my tears of pain as I found someone speaking who could put my on words on to paper.
    I’m fortunate that my dad, my biggest fan and supporter, passed away when I was 47, 3 years ago. Reading about you and your dad made me thankful I did have the time to share so much with him and to right a lot of wrongs on both sides that come with any paret child relationship. But the pain is the same. Loss is loss and I’m sad in a way to see it’s still such a big part of you and in another way relieved to see that it may just be for me too and that it is what it is. Accepting it makes it easier than fighting it. Taking the pain and the joy together and not trying to deny the pain seems to make it a bit easier.
    Thank you for your beautiful words and story of your past and present Father’s Day. What a gift you shared with so many that just don’t know how to express our feelings over it.

    Like

  8. I lost both my parents by the time I was 21. Lost my mom in ’08 two weeks before graduation and my dad the day after Thanksgiving in 2011. Hadn’t seen him since I was 16. He called me Thanksgiving Day and left me a message. I still have it saved to my phone. Despite my age, I get what it means to feel weird or sad or nothing at all on days that are meant for celebration with parents and family. But I’ve learned to find people I truly, deeply care about and make sure they feel the same way about me. That’s my family. That’s who I grill with. That’s who I bring flowers to.

    Like

  9. I just wanted to let you know how touching your article was for me.
    I lost my mother at 9 years of age.. And almost lost my father at 35. I know we don’t live forever, and tomorrow is not promised. I too think back to all the moments, and words of advice given, and am thankful for my memory. Cherish what you have today… Because it could be gone tomorrow.

    Like

  10. Reblogged this on A View From The Middle (Class) and commented:
    I came across this blog article a few days ago on The Huffington Post, and the deep feelings here grabbed me. That’s because I can relate to them all too well, as someone who was never able to see or touch or listen to my own father even once in my life. To all those who are able to celebrate this Father’s Day by making memories with their father or their children today or celebrating memories of the past, make the most of it. Cherish those memories. They are priceless.

    Like

  11. You have always been such a beautiful testiment of God’s love. I could never imagine the pain you felt and still feel losing your parents at such a young age. But your ability to continue loving… It’s truly one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. Although we know death means freedom for those we lose, it cuts so deep for those of us they leave. The amazing woman you are today inspires me and so many others. I know for a fact your daddy and your mother are so proud of you! I am as well. I love who you are and what you believe in. I love how you use your anointed gift of writing the way you do. Your courage in life and vulnerability in writing help me trust and love. I will forever be amazed by you and blessed by you. I love you always, my SIL.

    Like

Have a thought? Love what you read? Let me know here!

